Mission Trips: It May Not Be What You Think

img_9248

The words mission trip registers differently in everyone’s minds. Before going on my first mission trip, I thought you had to be a “Super Hero” Christian or committed to being a missionary for the rest of your life.

Although, it never stopped me from admiring those who chose the path to be missionaries. There was just something about being a missionary that gained someone knighthood in my eyes. Maybe it was the fact that they give up comfort to give someone else love.

During my sophomore year in college, an opportunity to go on a short term mission trip arose. As soon as I was able to grab a pen, I signed up. I saw the need to go and give the love God had provided me with and share it with people who have never encountered it.

By signing my name on the sheet of paper, I was asking God to send me across the seas into another culture to greet strangers. In Isaiah 6:8 it states “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!””

When I went on the mission trip, I was no way a “Super Hero” Christian and I still am not. I did not hear God call me to go on the mission trip, I saw the need of God’s work to be done. I felt called to love everyone, just as God loves them. That is exactly what I did. Furthermore, we, as Christians, are all called to make disciples of men, as said in Matthew 28:19.

 

“God doesn’t call the equipped; he equips the called” –Anonymous

 

After the mission trip, I learned that I do not have to be called to be a missionary for life or a “Super Hero” Christian to go on a mission trip. In fact, I do mission work in my home town daily. As long as I am faithfully pursuing God, letting him guide me in life, and spreading His love to others: I am a missionary material.

If you are going on a mission trip soon, I recommend reading more advice about coming home from a mission trip by Relevant Magazine. Perhaps you might be going on your first mission trip? tirzahmag.com has some great guidance!

 

“And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”” Romans 10:15

Leave a Reply

