To the Girl Who is Afraid of Being Alone

cover-shot

What inspired this is my anxiety and my sporadic fear of being alone. When I was a kid, I used to live in a house with nine other people and now I am in college living with one other person. This was a big transition for me, from never having privacy to having all the privacy in the world. Since I was not used to this, to me the idea of all that alone time can be peaceful and scary. Here is what I have found to help me when my anxiety kicks up. However, I found another source that gives some more insight on anxiety called “What Having Anxiety Feels Like

3_happens2_happens

If you have the fear of being alone, you might over think or freak out at the thought of going home to an empty house. Over thinking leads to irrational logic, but the feelings are valid. When I have these moments, I stand up for my feelings and give the voices that creates irrational logic to God. God can turn feelings into a comfort as I rest in his spirt.

“So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.” Romans 8:6

4_friends5_friends

A quick solution to the fear of being alone it surrounding yourself with loved ones. Living in the digital age, we have the opportunity to call or text them and maybe even meet up! However, make sure you talk to a loved one that comforts you, makes you feel loved, and leads you to Jesus.

img_9157img_9167

Make a plan or to do list, this will give you a sense of control and affirmation that you have something to do throughout your day. And include something you enjoy, that way you have something you look forward to.

8_pet9_pet

Pets are great company and they are always there to share love! For me, my apartment would feel empty without my friendly kitten, Rory.

10_hobby11_hobby

Find a hobby: photo/video editing, reading, tv/movies, exercising, haymaking, ect. Having a hobby is a great way to have get your mind off the negative things and on what makes you happy.

img_9200

img_9194

You are never alone. That’s right, I went there. God is always by your side, even when we cannot feel or see him. We can find his presence in various ways, but the two ways that always work for me is reading my Bible or turning on worship music and praying.

14_ending

My Grandma has always told me that on a bad day to count my blessings. Which in the past, always made me up set. I would think to myself “How could I possibly think about my blessings, when right now everything is going wrong!?” Until one very bad day, I was laying across my bed crying, calling out to God and not hearing a word. When I was reminded to count my blessings and like a flood, beautiful memories of family and friends came rushing into my mind.

Anxiety can cloud our minds and pervert the truth into something it is not. We think we are alone to suffer in our thoughts, but that is not true. There are many things surrounding us, we just have to open our eyes to them and separate ourselves from the anxiety. You are not your anxiety or fears.

“It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he enables me to stand on the heights. He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You give me your shield of victory, and your right hand sustains me; you stoop down to make me great. You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn.” Psalm 18:32-36

 

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14.27

Leave a Reply

